New Products · Techniques · Uncategorized

Backgrounds-Hero Arts August MMH kit

I have to warn you, this is a long post!

The August kit and add ons were packed full of great background options! I couldn’t pass on that great Pretty Moon Spiral Bold Print background stamp (my first traditional background stamp).  The stencil included in the kit is great as well, and those mist sprays!!!

So, let’s get started. I jumped right in with the mist sprays (they are magic)!


There were two sprays included in the kit. A Metallic Blueberry Mist and a Gold Shimmer Mist. These sprays have different appearances depending on what color cardstock you spray them on. The blue mist looks blue on white cardstock and silver on dark cardstock. The white spray is gold on dark cardstock and more of a faint shimmer on white cardstock.

They also change appearance when you tilt the cardstock in the light. It’s gorgeous!

The two samples above were sprayed from a couple of inches above the cardstock (I did get a bit closer for a couple of shots on the white cardstock and you can see the concentrated spots).

I sprayed my cardstock in a box, and I couldn’t let the extra spray go to waste. The panel below was a combination of me “smooshing” in the extra spray of several cards and then spritzing the panel with one or two hits of the spray.

On the next panel I used water color paper and covered it with water before spraying it. The spray mixed with the water, spreading over the cardstock. It lightened the color a bit and turned out a beautiful sapphire color.


I had already cut the panel in half to use in a card, but the whole panel looked like this.

This panel was made by spraying the mist a bit closer then the previous panels. I will admit I was struggling with the blue spray. The ink kept leaking out of the spray top and dripping in big drops on my cardstock. Eventually the spray jammed. I was just going to let it go, but I was watching a YouTube video of someone making cards with their kit  where they had the same leaky problem and mentioned they got a replacement. I got in touch with Hero Arts and they sent one the same day they received my email (yesterday). I’ll let you know how it goes, but I was impressed with their quick response.

Let’s move on to the Pretty Moon Spiral stamp!

For my first background I stamped the background stamp on Neenah Classic Crest Solar White in MFT’s Grout Gray.


Next, I decided to stamp it on Gina K Design’s In the Navy in Versamark and heat emboss it with clear powder. I did once with the stamp centered on the cardstock, and once with it offset.


I really like the navy backgrounds!

For my last background I used the stencil that came with the MMH August kit and some Nuvo Embellishment Mousse in silver. This was my first time using the mousse with a stencil and I didn’t do a very good job. I didn’t have a pallet knife so I used a plastic cake server. Next time I’ll wait for the pallet knife. 🙂


I was able to use a black gel pen to hide some of the spots where it seeped under the stencil.

You can see some of the cards I made with the  backgrounds on this post. I’ll write another post when I use the others.

Thanks for sticking with me through all of that!

Nicole

Leave a comment